Deep & Mysterious: Osyr

We’re back again!

Welcome to “Support Sunday” Episode 5, and we’re back in the realm of the musically gifted, profiling the deep & somewhat mysterious Osyr (pronounced ‘Os-eye’). Osyr, whose real name is Sibo, is the first non-Zambian creative that I have featured, hailing from the kingdom of Swaziland. He and is both a recording artist and producer. “The rest”, he says, “…will be revealed along the way.

I’ve known Sibo from since I was about 6-7 years old, though I only recently got in touch with him again thanks to Mark Zuckerberg’s amaaazing social network. From there, after a few discussions catching up, he invited me to like his Facebook Page, and I was introduced to the world of Osyr, his musical “alter-ego”, for lack of a better term. What stood out to me on his Page was his fearless creativity, whether he’s quoting tweets about how great of a performer AKA is, or promoting his music. Sibo has his own, concise way of putting things, and to be honest, I think it’s pretty cool. It’s what being creative is all about – finding & using your unique voice.

Sibo says he became interested in music from an early age, at the age of around of 3-4. Just to give you a little insight into how deep he can be, this was his response when I asked him how far he sees himself going:

“My new state isn’t based on destinations or goal-oriented anymore, so I don’t see it for myself but rather goals I have for my people. The simplest way to put is saying I hope to continue with Biko’s black consciousness, alter my people’s perceptions of themselves, and expose them to themselves in their entirety. So it’s motivation, positivity, pure spirituality and overall GREAT music.”

Picture 1
“Love. Peace. God”

If you’re as curious as I am, you’re probably also wondering how the name “Osyr” came up. Sibo is obsessed with knowledge, and at one point in his life, he was looking particularly at Ancient Egyptian culture. ‘Osyr’ comes from Osiris, considered one of the most powerful gods in Egyptian mythology. After toying around with it for a bit, he finally settled for ‘Osyr’, which he has stuck to till this day. “There’s more, but we’ll leave it for the future.

Osyr is currently working on his debut solo E.P., which he says will be “beginning of many more projects”. This young Swazi man is looking to take it to the very top ladies & gentlemen, and you can be part of the experience too, by connecting with him on any of the following social platforms:

Facebook Page: Osyr

SoundCloud: Osyr

Thanks as always for showing your love and support guys, peace and love to you & yours! Enjoy the rest of your week!

-Guss

Leave a comment